Go to the U of M home page.
Human Rights Center logo

Human Rights Law Faculty

The Law School's outstanding faculty includes internationally renown human rights experts, many of whom have practical legal experience in the area. They teach human rights courses on a variety of topics, including international human rights law, American Indian law, civil rights, the death penalty, freedom of expression, and employment discrimination. Experienced clinicians and researchers bring their area of expertise to the large number of clinics offered at the Law School.

Dale Carpenter
Constitutional law and sexual orientation and the law
Richard S. Frase
Comparative criminal procedure
Jennifer Green
International human rights clinic
Oren Gross
National security and humanitarian law
Neha Jain
Criminal law, international law, and comparative and international criminal law
Mark Kappelhoff
Civil rights, criminal law, criminal procedure, and human trafficking
Stephen Meili
Asylum law, immigration and human rights
Fred Morrison
International law and comparative public law
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin
National security, transitional justice, European law, and women's rights
Ruth Okediji
International intellectual property law and policy
Myron Orfield
Civil rights and questions of regional governance
Christopher Roberts
Torts, human rights law, social policy, citizenship, law and social science, social theory
Robert Stein
Rule of law
Carl Warren
Civil rights
David Weissbrodt
International human rights and immigration
David Wippman
International and human rights law and the law of war

Affiliated and Adjunct Human Rights Law Faculty


Marsha Freeman
Director of International Women's Rights Action Watch (IWRAW)
Barbara Frey
Human rights
Leigh Payne
Institute for Global Studies
Abdulwahid Qalinle
Islamic law and human rights
Kristi Rudelius-Palmer
Human rights and education

Tatuye Means

"The Human Rights Center and clinical faculty have provided the resources and skills necessary for me to be an indigenous issues advocate—a testament to the Law School's commitment to meeting each student's needs."

  Fellow, Tribal Law and
  Policy Institute